The Studies Prove It

Everyday in my lecture classes, about half of the people use their laptop to “take notes”. However, they usually are not just taking notes. The research provided by the Vox article, “Why you should take notes by hand — not a laptop”, shows that even if students are truly just taking notes on their laptop, they will not remember it as well as one who took the notes by hand. This research is significant for me because I began to take notes on my laptop this year. As a result, I have notice when I study for tests, I do not recollect the information learned during lecture as well. I believe that it is important for students, including myself, to start taking their notes by hand again. School is more than just memorization and by hand writing notes, the information taught during classes will be material one can use in their lives, not just memorization.

Leave a Reply

